Beginning August 1, 2012, the state of Alabama will prohibit drivers from text messaging while behind the wheel of a moving motor vehicle. The state’s governor signed House Bill 2, legislation banning the distracting driving habit recently, into law. A driver involved in text messaging is 23 times more likely to be involved in an automotive collision than a driver who isn’t text messaging. Sending or receiving a text based message while driving takes the driver’s eyes off the road ahead for more than four and a half seconds, a length of time in which a car traveling at 55 miles per hour will cross a distance of 100 yards, according to data provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Motorists cited for texting while driving under Alabama’s new law will be fined $25 for a first time offense, $50 for a second offense, and $75 for any repeat offenses after that. Composing, sending, or reading a text based message or email while driving is prohibited under the new law, an offense resulting in a two point violation on the driver’s record.
As a personal injury attorney in Sacramento, I am hopeful that this law will increase the safety of highway motorists. If you or someone you love or care about has been injured in an accident linked to distracted driving habits, please consider discussing your legal rights with a Sacramento auto accident lawyer.